The Sober Shaman
The Sober Shaman
Addiction Recovery Depends on This Choice
1
0:00
-36:45

Addiction Recovery Depends on This Choice

Opportunity & cravings have no power over The Choice.
1

This kind of choice is not built upon willpower, or “I’m going to try,” or “It’s a good idea if I stop doing [fill-in-the-blank].”

No, this kind of choice is an immovable object.

This kind of choice is an agreement with spirit, a covenant with God, and, if you’re an atheist, it’s a partnership with Truth itself. 

Until you make this choice, the big problems in recovery will keep resurfacing, increasing the chance of relapse.


In this episode of The Sober Shaman Podcast, we’ll examine what makes this choice different, why it’s imperative for successful recovery, and what it takes to make the decision.

I would like to thank

for his post, “I Could Relapse,” in which he recalls a Smart Recovery Group that stuck with him. Adam introduces the Fire Triangle, which consists of oxygen, heat, and fuel, and explains how it’s an analogous model for the Relapse Triangle, which consists of opportunity, cravings, and choice. Great stuff.

It had me nodding along in agreement and had my brain humming in harmony with truths that ring like bells.

I experienced this resonance because this choice was what finally pushed me over the line separating addiction from recovery.

Until I made this choice, I was always “trying,” “attempting,” “implementing a new method,” etc., which was frustrating, exhausting, and just set me up for another go-around of the cycle.

These days, I have more clarity about the dynamics and logistics that go into this choice, and the language I use to help others make the same choice for themselves.

Not a subscriber? Make this choice ;) and receive Your Guide to the Shamanic Journey, sent right to your inbox.

Do you know someone who’s struggling with addiction and hasn’t yet made this choice?

It’s not easy. Leave a comment below or shoot me an email, spirit@randallyons.com, with your questions or thoughts.

Leave a comment

With Blessings,
Randal

Discussion about this podcast

The Sober Shaman
The Sober Shaman
Exploring ways to transform addiction by making the spiritual practical.